A Letter to a Cherished Friend

Dear Hannah,

I’ve been having a bit of a time of it lately and, in an effort to summon some sunshine through the clouds, I find myself thinking of that, and those, for which I am most thankful.

I am honoured to say that you and yours, my love, reign supreme atop both these lists.

I would never wish to speak for anyone other than myself but, I cannot help suspecting that I am not alone in believing that at times if feels as if there exist no positives whatsoever to be gleaned from mental illness. That said, if I absolutely had to pick one thing, it would be the community that has coalesced around that little gem of yours for which no adjective can do justice.

I’m sorry to say that I haven’t been as much a part of it over the past couple of months as I would have liked. I hope soon for more pieces of my puzzle to fall into place so that I may one again give over more of my time to those I miss the most: our family, as I don’t feel too odd in describing them.

How many of us, I wonder, look around and think:

Look at all the love we’ve found

Well, that is the “that” accounted for; now for the “those”…

In fact, it is a singular: you are the one that has brought all of the above together, and it is you for whom, by way of the painful path of mental illness, I am most thankful.

I shall, however, make this brief, for fear of foolishness; though it shall be no less sincere. Similarly, I hope this comes out sounding no other way than how I intend it to.

Whenever I feel in need of a reason to smile, I think back to the first time we met and that first hug; which I will never forget.

I remember a slight pause and something of a “Right”, as if that in gearing up for something so long overdue, one did indeed require a moment’s composure. So many words and woes had already been shared that something so simple as a single hug was then, in sum and in contrast, both everything and nothing.

You yourself could never really know to what extent, but; through your prose, in its straightforwardness and its subtleties, I continue to learn; about recovery, courage, strength, hope and change.

For this, and for your friendship, I remain forever thankful.

With love,
Josh

Leave a Reply

