A Few Words for Fellow Travellers

These words are addressed to one particular person for the benefit of anyone but

***

I’ve shared a few thoughts with a few friends. The people who cared enough to help me through it. The people who actually would’ve cared if I had let you push me over the edge.

As I start a new chapter, now feels like an appropriate time to say a few words. They’re not for me and they’re not for you. They’re for anyone else who just might need a little reassurance.

***

The first time, I chuckled to myself. A surprisingly pleasant response to a 4-something-am text.

This time, I laughed out loud. A lot.

Any communication of yours is both prefaced and post-faced by the malicious things you said and did; the fact you either don’t see that, or don’t appreciate it, (and, based on past experience, I would fail to find this surprising), is funny in itself.

“You can’t hate me that much”

You don’t get to tell me what I feel or for how long I should, or could, feel it. You don’t even get to assess or assume.

Here’s the thing: I have big plans. And I’m incredibly excited about these plans. Once upon a time, they involved you and you would’ve been cherished throughout. But they don’t involve you anymore and that’s your fault and your problem.

That’s it.

I won’t be the last person you hurt; and nor will I be the last person to ever be hurt by anyone. But I also won’t be the last person to come out the other side. These words are for those people; the ones still on that journey.

It’s hard and it’s hurtful. But it doesn’t go on forever. Sometime soon you will find the end; you won’t look back; and you’ll be too busy being better off to waste time wondering whether or not that person whose heart you, as a kind person, would never so brazenly break, hates you a little or a lot.

You’re worth far more than some people ever give you credit for. You are loved and you would be missed.

Please hang in there.

***

If anyone reading this feels is hurting and struggling, please know that you are not alone in your pain. If ever you need someone to talk to, I am always contactable on Twitter (@whateverwordsuk) or via email (whateverwords1@gmail.com)

Leave a Reply

