‘Birthday’ – a poem of positivity

Birthday
 
For so many years I have felt like a stepping stone
Never to skim but to sink and fade alone
As sleep becomes more urgent and my hair turns grey
I spin in search of how things turned out this way
But today (of all days) the path ahead is clear
I needn’t hide away nor hope to disappear
Ripples I will disperse as if from the hand of Gods
Patience will define me like old men asleep at fishing rods
For too many years I have served as a stepping stone
But from today I walk tall, free and confidently:
For I am impassioned, determined and
I have found my home

Leave a Reply

