Kindness

It is 22:21.

As I lay in bed, in darkness, trying to get an early night in anticipation of an early start, two brief sentences come into my head.

How are you doing?

I felt your pain

These were uttered to me perhaps six months apart, in 2016; but I shall never forget either. They bookend the most difficult and painful period of my life thus far.

It is perfectly possible that neither of the gentleman who put forth these words had any idea of their potential impact. But they were both supreme acts of kindness.

Never underestimate the compassion imbued in words.

The recipient could be at the precipice, starving.

Leave a Reply

