A Letter to Megan

Dear Meg,

If you’ve got a moment, I’ve a few things to say. I’ll try not to take too long.

I don’t fully believe the line that what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger. I suppose it depends on how you define strength. After falling to ferociously low points myself, I’m sceptical that some battles are worth it. However, you are one of the people who give me pause on this.

I have a suspicion that you neither need consolation, not want it; but I can’t let this pass by unannounced. I don’t know every page of your story; far from it. But whatever details you have to tell, I hope you don’t mind me saying that I think they have made you into an admirable woman.

That’s life, as you say: nonchalantly, matter-of-factly. Whenever you say this, I hear in my head all of the roles one may assume throughout: a puppet, a pauper, a pirate, a poet, a pawn, a king or a queen. As you relay scenes – so plainly – I can’t be sure of what lies beneath the exterior. But whatever may or may not be there, I can be sure of my wanting to wrap my arms around you and give you a big, loving hug. I wouldn’t tell you that everything will be okay – I know you wouldn’t believe me, and I couldn’t confidently argue that it will or that you should. I would do my best, though, to put a smile on the face of someone who I believe deserves supreme happiness.

We’ve talked a lot recently; indeed, an increasing amount. I hope you know that I cherish this. I’ve told you things I would feel out-of-line telling others, and I appreciate so much having someone to discuss those things with, and for your being non-judgmental when we do. Your outlook on things, your style, and the way you express yourself, is refreshing and honest. You wouldn’t know this – and possibly wouldn’t believe it – but, you are teaching me. You are teaching me to cross life in my stride, as you yourself do so inspiringly. And for that, I am grateful.

It feels like we’ve known each a long time. Yet we still have a lot more to talk about – Nirvana, poetry, Donnie Darko, liquor, the Arctic Monkeys.

I cannot wait.

With love,
Josh

Leave a Reply

