An Afterword on the #RoundReads Debut

1225274637_85fac883b1_b

It’s probably fair to say that if there’s one primary theme upon which I’ve “marketed” Whatever Words, it is my love of books. Truly, my appetite for them is insatiable.

That being the case; it is perhaps ironic, then, that when turning to the task of typing a brief write up of Roundtable Readers‘ debut Twitter chat – which took place last night (#RoundReads) – other than the oft-repeated, bare (logistical) bones, I simply cannot find the words.*

It’s not that I can’t find the words to describe the experience: I could easily quote the Beach Boys, after all. Rather, I have neither at my fingertips, nor on the tip of my tongue, any combination of letters to accurately express the emotional experience of seeing the conversation in action.

love talking about books, and it seems there is definitely a number of likeminded people out there(!) As these Twitter chats tend to do,** it very quickly took on a life of its own, and was – to me – quite an exhilarating thing to watch. People seemed to have enjoyed it; which I am positively thrilled about! So, if you’re reading this as one of last night’s Round Readers – THANK YOU.

Well, what next?

I envisage #RoundReads taking place every three weeks; that should give us all enough time to make enough progress in our reading lists for chats to remain fresh and diverse. The next edition of Roundtable Readers, then, will take place on Wednesday 8th February I will remind people of this nearer the time.) In the meantime, however, if you have any ideas for the chat, or simply want to offer some feedback – both of which are very much welcome! – you can tweet me at @whateverwordsuk or email at whateverwords1@gmail.com.

Again: thank you to all who tweeted and retweeted my tweets and retweets and got involved. Y’all made a bookworm a  very happy… worm[!]

See you on February 8th!

P.S. If you’re interested to know some of the books I’ll be reading, then check out the brand new list of “10 Books I Can’t Wait to Read This Year“.

* Would you believe I’m writing this on Wednesday night; a mere 30 minutes after the end of the chat?
** Don’t forget the spectacular #TalkMH chat taking place tonight at 8:30pm!

2 thoughts on “An Afterword on the #RoundReads Debut

Leave a Reply

