Dec 4th: My Favourite Christmas Songs

I think it’s fair to say that these songs speak overwhelmingly to my penchant for fifties and sixties music…

***

1. Fairytale of New York – The Pogues featuring Kirsty MacColl (1987)

if_i_should_fall_from_grace_with_god_alt
This is one of the 12 things I love about Christmas.

2. Frosty the Snowman – The Ronettes (1963)

album_a_christmas_gift_for_you_from_philles_records_cover

I first heard this in Goodfellas. I can picture the scene: Robert De Niro, arms open wide, smile beaming after a successful and very profitable heist. I love “old”-sounding Christmas songs, and this is the one that always comes to mind first.

3. Little Saint Nick – The Beach Boys (1963)

bbxmascover

I genuinely love the Beach Boys and this is my favourite of theirs from their 1964 Christmas album. Those harmonies on “Run, run, reindeer”…

4. Run, Rudolph, Run – Chuck Berry (1958)

berry

It’s just like ‘Johnny B. Goode’, but about Rudolph. Plus, it’s in Jingle All the Way – and Home Alone.

5. Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree – She & Him (2011)

a_very_she_and_him_christmas

I love New Girl and I love Zooey Deschanel and any- and everything she does (ask Geek Magnifique). I also love Christmas songs, so She & Him’s two Christmas albums (A Very She & Him Christmas (2011) and Christmas Party (2016)) are bliss. I had to pick one of their songs and this song always makes me think of that scene in Home Alone (you know the one) – so this song it is. (Read my review of Christmas Party for Love From… here.)

***

What are your favourite Christmas songs?

Leave a Reply

