Bananas and Cream

Today, 6th October 2016, is National Poetry Day.

Just now, having read something about the occasion on Twitter, I remembered a poem which I haven’t thought about for a very long time.

‘Bananas and Cream’ by David McCord.

This was my favourite poem when I was a kid. I can’t remember if my Mum would read this to me, or I would read it to her, or I would just read it out loud or in my head – but it is still a delight.

And here it is:


Bananas and Cream

Bananas and cream,
Bananas and cream:
All we could say was
Bananas and cream.

We couldn’t say fruit,
We wouldn’t say cow,
We didn’t say sugar –
We don’t say it now.

Bananas and cream,
Bananas and cream,
All we could shout was
Bananas and cream.

We didn’t say why,
We didn’t say how;
We forgot it was fruit,
We forgot the old cow;
We never said sugar,
We only said WOW!

Bananas and cream,
Bananas and cream,
All that we want is
Bananas and cream! 

We didn’t say dish,
We didn’t say spoon;
We said not tomorrow,
But NOW and HOW SOON

 Bananas and cream,
Bananas and cream,
We yelled for bananas,
Bananas and cream!

– David McCord

fullsizerender-5

UPDATE:

“I would read it to you and then we both yelled out the last bit” – my Mum

Leave a Reply

